Something unprecedented could happen at the MTN-sponsored Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards Night dinner at the Banquet Hall of the State House tomorrow.

For the first time in the 35-year history of the prestigious event, an underage player, Dominic Adiyiah, stands a good chance of sweeping major awards at the expense of some highly-fancied Black Stars players.

AC Milan’s Adiyiah, just loaned to Serie B side Reggina for want of more playing time, is in stiff competition for both the Sports Personality of the Year flagship award and the enviable Footballer of the Year prize with heavyweights like Chelsea’s Michael Essien and John Paintsil of Fulham.

The race is too close to call, and SWAG is keeping its cards close to its chest till the crowning moment.

The organisers say the suspense created by the photo-finish at the top is one of the surprise elements in tomorrow’s event.

Equally exciting is the novelty Premiership Player of the Year award category which has Hearts of Oak’s Obed Ansah, Chelsea’s Lee Addy and Jordan Opoku of Asante Kotoko in a close contest.

SWAG has only hinted of a thrilling night, leaving out the finest details for the D-day as the loud silence clearly suggests.

Headline sponsor, MTN Ghana, are committed to ensuring a memorable night as evidenced in their GH˘35,000 support, same as Stanbic Bank (GH˘3,000), while Guinness Ghana, Voltic and others are supporting the event with their products.

As for VIPs, they will be there aplenty with Osagyefo Amoatia Ofori-Panin II leading the rich pack in his royal capacity as the Special Guest of Honour for the occasion.

Other personalities with guaranteed honours include Alex Asamoah (Goal King), Kwesi Nyantakyi (Chairman of the Year), Eric Addo (Dedication and Valour), Sellas Tetteh (Coach of the Year), Joseph Lamptey (Referee of the Year), Emmanuel Quartey (Promising Star), Benedict Sam, Pamela Condobrey (Hockey), Derek Abrefa, Cynthia Kwabi (Table Tennis), Charles Adamu (Pro Boxer), Michael Akonor (Scrabble) and Daniel Sam, Linda Hammond Osei (Badminton).

Other personalities in line for Special Awards are Jordan Anagbla, Moses Foh-Amoaning, Oko Nikoi Dzani and Yaw Sakyi.