+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 1 of 1

Thread: Ghana Bid To Host Two FIFA World Cups

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Pope Bitterz D'Alomo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010

    Default Ghana Bid To Host Two FIFA World Cups

    Ghana has applied to host the FIFA U-17 World Cup in 2013 and FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2014, according to a press statement from the world’s football governing body.

    Ghana is contending with United Arab Emirates for the U-17 slot while it faces keen competition from Costa Rica, Macedonia, Russia, UAE and Uzbekistan for the women’s competition.

    According to FIFA Secretary General, Jérôme Valcke, the games’ body will announce the hosts of the two competitions and four others at the beginning of March.

    Another African country, Tunisia are fighting for the FIFA U-17 slot in 2015 and U-20 World Cup in that same year.

    In all 21 bids have been registered by 14 different member associations, representing all six football confederations. According to FIFA, the biggest tournament in question is the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015, for which Canada and Zimbabwe are the two bidding associations. The winning association will also play host to the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2014.

    “Such a large and diverse level of interest in both FIFA’s women’s and youth competitions demonstrates the attractiveness of our events,” Valcke said in a statement.

    “Our member associations often look to utilise these competitions as a catalyst for further promoting and developing football in their countries. We have received bids from around the globe, including some member associations who have previously hosted one or more FIFA competitions, and others who are bidding for the first time. Once again this process shows the universal appeal of our game.”

    The associations have until 11 February to submit their signed Hosting Agreements, together with their complete Bid Books.

    Full bidding list:

    FIFA U-17 World Cup 2013: Ghana and United Arab Emirates (UAE)
    FIFA U-20 World Cup 2013: Turkey, UAE and Uzbekistan
    FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2014: Costa Rica, Ghana, Macedonia, Russia, UAE and Uzbekistan
    FIFA U-17 World Cup 2015: Chile, Russia, Tunisia and Wales
    FIFA U-20 World Cup 2015: New Zealand, Peru, Tunisia and Wales

    Last edited by Pope Bitterz D'Alomo; 17th January 2011 at 09:23 PM.
    Beware lest you lose the substance by grasping at the shadow. ~Aesop

    Ignorance can be educated,drunkenness sobered,craziness medicated but there is no cure for STUPIDITY

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts