+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Asamoah Gyan makes CAF 3-man short list

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Pope Bitterz D'Alomo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010

    Default Asamoah Gyan makes CAF 3-man short list

    Asamoah Gyan has made the final three-man shortlist for the Caf African Player of Year Award.

    This was after Africa’s governing body, Caf, reduced the final shortlist to three men from the five who were initially named for the award.

    The Ghana and Sunderland striker would now have to beat off competition from strikers Didier Drogba and Samuel Eto’o for the top award in African football for the Year 2010 in Cairo on December 20.

    According to Caf, for the topmost awards, Player of the Year 2010 and African-based Player of the Year 2010, the respective winners would be decided by votes from the respective senior national teams’ Head Coaches or Technical Director of the 53 National Associations affiliated to CAF taking into consideration the performance during the year under review, from January 2010 to November 2010.

    Ghana has four representations out of the eight major award categories for the 2010 Confederation of African Football (CAF) Awards.

    Kwadwo Asamoah is in the running for the most promising player with the Black Stars nominated for the national team award.

    Ex-Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac has been selected for the coach of the year prize.

    Other Presidential Awards will also be given during the ceremony.

    Player of the Year

    a) Didier Drogba
    b) Samuel Eto’o Fils
    c) Asamoah Gyan
    d) Salomon Kalou
    e) Seydou Keita

    African-based Player of the Year

    a) Alain Dioko
    b) Mohamed Nagui Gedo
    c) Ahmed Hassan

    Most Promising Talent of the Year

    a) Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese and Ghana)
    b) Ryad Boudebouz (Sochaux and Algeria)
    c) Moussa Maazou (Bordeaux and Niger)

    Women’s Footballer of the Year

    a) Stella Mbachu (Nigeria)
    b) Perpetua Nkwocha (Sunnana SK and Nigeria)
    c) Ebere Orji (Nigeria U-20)

    Club of the Year

    a) CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
    b) FUS Rabat (Morocco)
    c) TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

    National team of the Year

    a) Algeria
    b) Egypt
    c) Ghana

    Women’s National team of the Year

    a) Equatorial Guinea
    b) Nigeria senior team
    c) Nigeria U-20 women

    Coach of the Year

    a) LamineN'Diaye (TP Mazembe)
    b) Milovan Rajevac – (Former Ghana Coach)
    c) Hassan Shehata (Egypt)

    Source: Ghanafa.org
    Beware lest you lose the substance by grasping at the shadow. ~Aesop

    Ignorance can be educated,drunkenness sobered,craziness medicated but there is no cure for STUPIDITY

  2. #2


    Congrats to Asamoah Gyan however if CAF is using just the World Cup as a yardstick for this award, i think it's unfair. IMO Asamoah Gyan can't lace the shoes of Drogba and Eto'O. I'm sorry ! The truth hurts.

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts