The annual CAF Awards enters its 19th edition this year and the Awards Gala will take place in Cairo, Egypt.

On Monday, December 20, 2010, the King of African football will be unveiled at the City Stars, Cairo, amongst the quintet Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Didier Drogba (Cote d’Ivoire), Salomon Kalou (Cote d’Ivoire), Asamoah Gyan (Ghana) and Seydou Keita (Mali).

From 1992 to 2009, Ghana’s Abedi Pele to Ivorian Didier Drogba, 13 players have laid claim to the most prestigious individual honour in African football. Cameroonian Eto’o has been crowned thrice in succession between 2003 and 2005, whilst Senegalese forward, El Hadji Diouf was decorated twice on the trot, 2001 and 2002.

However, the first man to have been named African footballer of the Year twice remains veteran Nigerian forward Kanu Nwankwo, in 1996 and 1999 with Drogba duplicating the feat in 2006 and 2009.

Winners of the prestigious honour have come from the midfield and attack, and that tradition will be respected once again as the contenders are within that scope.

In addition, the 13 players to have been decorated since 1992 had and continue to remain amongst the foremost of ambassadors ever of the world’s most popular sport.

They are also several others who came closest, including Ivorian goalkeeper Alain Gouaméné in 1992, Moroccan defender Noureddine Naybet (sixth in 1993), Nigerian Daniel Amokachi regularly featured among the top ten while Chadian Japhet N'Doram was virtually handicapped by the non-presence of his national team at the final phase of a major continental championship. South African defender Mark Fish also settled for sixth position in 1996.

When the roll call for the laureates is launched, there is a very noticeable observation; Nigeria is the country which has the biggest number of laureates with five awards in total, two for Kanu, one for Emmanuel Amunike, one for Rashidi Yekini, and the other for Victor Ikpeba.

Patrick Mboma won it once coupled with Eto’o’s hat-trick gives Cameroon four titles, while Diouf is responsible for the two titles for Senegal just as Drogba for Cote d’Ivoire’s two.

Once winners include Ghana – Abedi Pele, Liberia – George Weah (the only African player to have been crowned FIFA World Footballer of the Year), Morocco – Mustapha Hadji, Mali – Frederic Kanoute and Togo – Emmanuel Adebayor.

Another common feature is that all winners plied their trade in Europe at the time of their coronation.

For the last five years, the Awards Gala has been sponsored by Cellular Telecommunications outfit, Globacom, who have raised the bar of excellence with ceremonies in cities such as Abuja, Accra and Lome and Lagos.

Award winners
1992 Abedi AYEW PELÉ (Ghana)
1993 Rashidi YEKINI (Nigeria)
1994 Emmanuel AMUNIKE (Nigeria)
1995 George WEAH (Liberia)
1996 Nwankwo KANU (Nigeria)
1997 Victor IKPEBA (Nigeria)
1998 Mustapha HADJI (Morocco)
1999 Nwankwo KANU (Nigeria)
2000 Patrick MBOMA (Cameroon)
2001 El-Hadji DIOUF (Senegal)
2002 El Hadji DIOUF (Senegal)
2003 Samuel ETO'O (Cameroon)
2004 Samuel ETO'O (Cameroon)
2005 Samuel ETO'O (Cameroon)
2006 Didier DROGBA (Cote d’Ivoire)
2007 Frédéric KANOUTE (Mali)
2008 Emmanuel ADEBAYOR (Togo)
2009 Didier DROGBA (Cote d’Ivoire)