The Confederation of African Football (CAF) on December 04th unveiled the shortlists for the CAF Awards - Cairo 2010 to honour best achievers in African Football for the Year 2010.

The final nominees will vie for honours in the respective categories following their nomination by the Media, Technical and Football Committees of CAF taking into consideration the performance during the year under review, from January 2010 to November 2010.
For the topmost awards, Player of the Year 2010 and African-based Player of the Year 2010, the respective winners are decided by votes from the respective senior national teams’ Head Coaches or Technical Director of the 53 National Associations affiliated to CAF.

The Event will be held on December 20, 2010 in Cairo, Egypt.

Below are the shortlists (in alphabetical order)

1. Player of the Year
a) Didier Drogba
b) Samuel Eto’o Fils
c) Asamoah Gyan
d) Salomon Kalou
e) Seydou Keita

The above shortlist will further be reduced to 3 players on December 11th .

2. African-based Player of the Year
a) Alain Dioko
b) Mohamed Nagui Gedo
c) Ahmed Hassan

3. Most Promising Talent of the Year
a) Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese and Ghana)
b) Ryad Boudebouz (Sochaux and Algeria)
c) Moussa Maazou (Bordeaux and Niger)

4. Women’s Footballer of the Year
a) Stella Mbachu (Nigeria)
b) Perpetua Nkwocha (Sunnana SK and Nigeria)
c) Ebere Orji (Nigeria U-20)

5. Club of the Year
a) CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
b) FUS Rabat (Morocco)
c) TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

6. National team of the Year
a) Algeria
b) Egypt
c) Ghana

7. Women’s National team of the Year
a) Equatorial Guinea
b) Nigeria senior team
c) Nigeria U-20 women

8. Coach of the Year
a) LamineN'Diaye (TP Mazembe)
b) MilovanRajevac – (Former Ghana Coach)
c) Hassan Shehata (Egypt)

Other Presidential Awards will also be given during the ceremony, further information will be provided in due time.