+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: CAF releases official list of 2010 Player of The Year Nominees

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Pope Bitterz D'Alomo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010

    Default CAF releases official list of 2010 Player of The Year Nominees

    The Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Saturday revealed the nominees for the 2010 Player of the Year award and 2010 African based Player of the Year award.

    Ten (10) players will vie for the prestigious Player of the Year award whilst five others have been shortlisted for the African-based Player of the Year award. The nominees were determined by the Media, Technical and Football Committees of CAF taking into consideration the performance of the players during the year under review, from January 2010 to November 2010.

    For the 2010 Player of the Year, the nominees are in alphabetical order:

    Ahmed Hassan (Al-Ahly and Egypt), Andre Ayew (Olympique Marseille and Ghana), Kevin Prince Boateng (AC Milan and Ghana), Madjid Bougherra (Rangers and Algeria), Didier Drogba (Chelsea and Cote d’Ivoire), Samuel Eto’o Fils (Inter Milan and Cameroon), Mohamed Nagy ‘Gedo’ (Al-Ahly and Egypt), Asamoah Gyan (Sunderland and Ghana), Salomon Kalou (Chelsea and Cote d’Ivoire), and Seydou Keita (Barcelona and Mali).

    The contenders for the African-based Player of the Year are:

    Ahmed Hassan (Al-Ahly and Egypt), Oussama Darragi (Esperance and Tunisia), Alain Kaluyituka Dioko (TP Mazembe and DR Congo), Michael Eneramo (Esperance and Nigeria) and Mohamed Nagy ‘Gedo’ (Al-Ahly and Egypt).

    The winner of each category will be decided by votes from the respective senior national teams’ Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the 53 National Associations affiliated to CAF.

    The Awards Gala 2010 will be organized on December 20, 2010 in Cairo, Egypt.
    Beware lest you lose the substance by grasping at the shadow. ~Aesop

    Ignorance can be educated,drunkenness sobered,craziness medicated but there is no cure for STUPIDITY

  2. #2
    BBoy T


    If world cup performance is not the only criteria for this award, then the obvious choice will be between Samuel Eto'O Fils AND Didier Drogba

    Eto'O did it all at club level as an European Champ and also scored at the world cup, Drogba was great at club level.
    Last edited by BBoy T; 7th November 2010 at 08:26 PM.

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts