View Full Version : Fifteen midfielders shortlisted for FIFA/FIFPro World XI 2012

Pope Bitterz D'Alomo
26th November 2012, 03:08 PM
The worldwide players’ union FIFPro and FIFA has announced the 15 midfielders shortlisted for the FIFA/FIFPro World XI 2012 (see list below), part of the 55-player final shortlist to be revealed at a press conference in São Paulo on 29 November 2012.

After the unveiling of the five shortlisted goalkeepers and the 20 shortlisted defenders, the shortlist of 15 midfielders is now also known. These three shortlists will be completed by the list of 15 forwards to be announced and published on FIFA.com on 29 November.

The midfielder shortlist is: (home country, club)
Xabi Alonso (Spain / Real Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Spain / FC Barcelona), Cesc Fabregas (Spain / FC Barcelona), Steven Gerrard (England / Liverpool), Eden Hazard (Belgium / Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (Spain / FC Barcelona), Frank Lampard (England / Chelsea), Luka Modric (Croatia / Real Madrid), Mesut Özil (Germany / Real Madrid), Andrea Pirlo (Italy / Juventus), Franck Ribery (France / Bayern Munich), David Silva (Spain / Manchester City), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany / Bayern Munich), Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast / Manchester City), Xavi Hernandez (Spain / FC Barcelona)

The 50,000 professional footballers belonging to the players’ unions across the world that form FIFPro received voting forms to nominate their peers in a secret ballot for inclusion in their World XI – choosing the best goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders, and three forwards of 2012.

The final FIFA FIFPro World XI will be announced at the FIFA Ballon d’Or gala at the Zurich Kongresshaus on 7 January 2013. During the televised gala, the winner of the FIFA Ballon d’Or for the best player of 2012 and the winner of the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2012 award will also be revealed. Meanwhile, the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football award and the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football award will be presented for the third time. The FIFA Puskás Award for the best goal of the year, the FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award will also be presented during the gala.

FIFPro has organised the World XI since 2005. In 2009, for the first time, the World XI was presented jointly with FIFA under the name “FIFA FIFPro World XI” at the FIFA World Player of the Year Gala, since renamed as the FIFA Ballon d’Or gala.