View Full Version : No Nigerian On The CAF Player Of The Year List

9th November 2011, 11:11 PM
Nigerian football once again got overlooked when Caf announced the list of players that will contest for the African footballer of the year awards in December.

Ten players were placed in the long list that includes Ivorians Didi-er Drogba, Yaya Toure and Gervinho; Ghanaians Asamoah Gyan, Kevin Prince-Boateng and Andre Ayew; Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o, Senegalese Moussa Sow, Malian Seydou Keita and Moroccan Adel Taarabt.
Peter Odemwingie didn't make the list despite scoring 15 league goals at West Brom and win two Premier League player of the month awards.

However, Uche Kalu of Enyimba was listed in the section for players based on the continent. The 25 year-old has never been invited to the senior national team.

The last time a Nigerian won the Caf player of the year award was 1999 when Nwankwo Kanu took his second title. The Super Eagles’ poor international performances have likely affected the standing of Nigerians in individual awards as well.